Skip to content

Brighton Confirmed as Women's Football Specialist Hub


The University of Brighton has been confirmed as one of 19 universities that will become a BUCS Women’s Football and Futsal Specialist Hub in partnership with BUCS and The FA.

Through the University Grassroots Hubs programme, 70 universities have received £400,500 to support the development of football and futsal. The hugely successful programme in 2017/18 saw 84,770 unique participants engaged in both internal student and external community football or futsal, facilitated by 2,548 workforce members.

BUCS have identified 19 of these universities who have a passion and commitment to developing women and girl’s football, and want to enhance their offer through innovative programmes and working with both internal and external partners.

Universities that have been chosen will get access to additional support in the delivery and development of their women’s offer, through both individual and networking meetings. They will be at the forefront of our new initiatives and offers, getting first access to pilot projects and innovation sessions to support in the development of the game, as well as the opportunity to apply for an innovation fund. BUCS will also be driving their work with partners (Education, WSL, FA) through the specialist hubs, which will offer opportunities to engage with new external networks.

Donna McIvor, National Participation Manager at The FA commented: “Congratulations to the Universities selected as Women’s Football Specialist Hubs. The FA is committed to doubling participation and making football the number one sport of choice for girls and women; Hubs play an important role in achieving this ambition. Hubs play a significant role in providing opportunities for women and girls to participate in the game as players, leaders, coaches, officials and fans both in the university itself and in their local communities. I am excited to work closing with the Specialist Hubs and BUCS over the forthcoming months to make a meaningful difference to women’s and girls’ football.”

The University of Brighton already has a broad sporting offer with a women's team on both Brighton and Eastbourne campuses, a futsal team who compete in the BUCS Premier League as well as opportunities to play in women's only recreational sessions through the Parklife programme.


The successful universities who will form the network are as follows:

University of Brighton

Southampton Solent University

University of Hull

University of Manchester

Sheffield Hallam University

University of Birmingham

University of Gloucestershire

Durham University

Northumbria University

Queen Mary, University of London

University of Surrey

University of Hertfordshire

University of Essex

Wolverhampton University

Worcester University

University of Huddersfield

Newcastle University

University of East Anglia

University of Exeter